My Top 10 Wardrobe Staples

closet

I have a rule whenever I go clothes shopping:no more than $50 per trendy item. I don’t mind splurging on handbags, shoes and jewellery, but for some reason, splurging on clothes, doesn’t sit well with me, especially not on trendy pieces.

What’s a trendy piece? Any piece of clothing that’s the ‘must-have’ of the season or any fad trend, i.e any short-lived fashion trends. E.g the peplum, studs & spikes, fringes, aztec patterns etc. I love all of the aforementioned, don’t get me wrong but I’ll stick to my <$50 per piece rule.

Things I wouldn’t mind spending more on, are my wardrobe staples – those pieces of clothing that are timeless classics or items that I can wear for years. I think you can always vamp up wardrobe staples with accessories, belts, scarves, hats etc and one thing to always keep in mind, is that staples are extremely versatile. Here are my Top 10 wardrobe staples. This post is limited to clothes, I’ll do a separate one for shoes and accessories later.

– Dark jeans

Lauren Conrad Visits The Salon Rachel-Bilson-Flared-Jeans-2

– A tailored blazer

Kristin+Cavallari+Filming+Hills+Brentwood+g0Hgil96D7Xl SB blazer Sophie B Blazer

– (Little) black dress

Kristen+Cavallari+arrives+Jimmy+Kimmel+Live+-EnVAtIjpg4l michele lea 2010 april black Kate Moss

– White tee

jennifer-aniston-white t-shirt eva-longoria-nice-airport-brian-atwood-encanta-sandals Sheryl

– Maxi dress

LC maxi dress J.Alba vanessa-hudgens-4351

– Denim shorts

kristin_cavallarri_denim_short rachel bilson denim shorts selena gomez

– A leather jacket

leather jacket black leather jacket grey leather jacket tan

– Collared white shirt

White collared shirt 2 collared white shirt 1 kourtney-kardashian-102110-4-481x769

– A nice coat

coat blanc red coat Emma Watson arriving at Automat restaurant in Mayfair

– A flattering pencil skirt

01-Naya-Riveras-PaleyFest-Icon-Award-Presentation-Monique-Lhuillier-Spring-2013-Ink-Racer-Pleated-Peplum-Top-and-Printed-Pencil-Skirt pencil skirt KK QVC Fashion Week Show - Arrivals

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. shanon chan

     /  June 15, 2013

    Very nice caro! Enjoyed reading them

    Reply
  1. Living in a Wardrobe Rut | Searching For The Happiness

Leave a Reply

  • About me

  • Hi Lovelies,

    My name is Caroline and I’m a Mauritian girl living in Sydney since 2007. I’m a lover of all things loyal, honest, positive and happy. Don't forget to subscribe ;) xx
  • Enter your email address to follow my blog & receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

