Mark my words! #Lifecrisis

lifecrisis

Happiness is such a subjective term…it means different things to different people, at different stages of their lives.

When I was a kid, happiness meant having as many Barbie dolls as possible as well as the house, the kitchen, the car, the pony, everything Barbie was pure bliss! As I got a little older – early teenage years – happiness meant going to church every Sunday to see ‘The boy’ or going to house parties and having him invite me for a slow dance (Yes in Mauritius we have slow dances at house parties!). Then, when I was 19-22, happiness meant going clubbing with friends, binge drinking and going overboard on everything I enjoyed at the time.

But today, happiness has a whole different meaning – happiness can be found in the little things if only you take the time to open your heart to them and acknowledge how they make you feel. If you put your mind to it and pay enough attention, you will notice at least one thing that makes you happy every single day.

Ask anyone around you if they’re happy and listen to the answers. It’s a tough question and it really puts everything back into perspective. If you want to answer that question properly, you’ll be thinking long and hard about your life, your goals, what you want, what you have achieved and whether all those things really make you happy?

Few people will tell you they’re unhappy. But not being unhappy, doesn’t necessarily mean you are happy. Most people live life being complacent and settle in routine. We believe there is a certain order of things that society imposes upon us and to be happy, we need to tick off those stages in the right order – graduate from university, start a career, buy a car, own a house, get married, start a family, look after the kids and the family, etc etc. But do we take the time to stop and be truly happy? Or are we too busy chasing material possessions and life accomplishments?

Here’s my take on it. I came across a few (very few) truly happy people in my life. They aren’t rich, they don’t have an awesome career, they have no plans for the future, no ambitions (other than being happy), no savings, no house, no car, etc etc. What do they have then? A positive approach to life I’d love to adopt. I am in awe of these people. I mean I’m a true hardcore fan! Whenever I speak to them, I can’t help but wish I was more like them and less like my worry-head, planning-freak, control-freak self! But I can’t change who I am…unless I go on some meditation retreat in India for five years or something!

But will go as far as saying I’m unhappy?? I don’t think so. I am blessed in so many aspects of my life – amazing family, had an awesome childhood, travelled a fair bit (but still not enough), have a few true friends, found true love, doing the job I always wanted to do etc. I mean what else could I ask for? Yet I spend way too much energy on planning for my future and not enough on living the NOW, I worry too much about things that will not even matter tomorrow, I keep on adding new goals I want to achieve and the list goes on. I think sometimes it’s important to stop for a minute (or more), re-visit our priorities and take the time to enjoy what we have rather than to keep on running this never-ending ‘race’. This isn’t how life is meant to be lived.

The one question I always ask myself whenever I’m having this type of life-crisis is this: “When I’ll be on my death bed, what will I look back on that will make me smile for what could be the last time?”…Those are the only things that truely matter!

I’d love to hear your thoughts!

~C

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. melissa blackburn

     /  July 18, 2013

    hello Caro, I was soooooo touched by this post and recognised myself in so many things in what you said!!! You are totally true… we are becoming too career focus and materialistic we tend to be guided by money, career and material acquisitions and making sure we are successful in everything but finally its all about enjoying life and sharing little things with people we love…

    Reply
    • Hi Mel, that’s right! And very often we complain about being too stressed and having too much pressure. But if we look closely, all the stress and pressure are self-imposed. We have the choice to look at things differently.

      Reply
  2. Poké

     /  July 18, 2013

    It’s important to have objectives and be focused. But it’s also important not to tunnel vision on the objectives we keep setting higher and harder and realise we are but travelling through to our final days.
    It’s never too late, even if you can’t do now what you could’ve when you were in your teens there’s still plenty to do to make yourself feel fulfilled. Plenty that doesn’t require tons of money if you learn to look around and be more easy going

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • About me

  • Hi Lovelies,

    My name is Caroline and I’m a Mauritian girl living in Sydney since 2007. I’m a lover of all things loyal, honest, positive and happy. Don't forget to subscribe ;) xx
  • Enter your email address to follow my blog & receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

