Get ready for a beach holiday

beach

Two weeks to go before my Thai holiday. Time to get ready to partay!!! Two weeks is generally the time I need to get everything ready and organised. Below is a list of things I’ll do before going on my beach ‘vacay’:

– Book your waxing appointment

For obvious reasons. I try to get all my waxing done a day before leaving, just to allow enough time for the soreness and redness to fade. If you do your waxing too early, chances are you’ll be hairy by the end of your holiday. Not cool.
I usually get my waxing done at Leah’s Waxworks. But it doesn’t matter where you go because at the end of the day, they’re all mean ladies, inflicting pain onto others for a living!
And yes, the process isn’t very glamourous, to say the least!

waxing

– Clean and perfectly shaped eyebrows

I don’t know about you, but my skin goes craycray when I’m on a holidays. I’m not sure if it’s the humidity, the pollution, the sun, not sure! But all I can say is that it’s not pretty. So to compensate, I try to make sure everything else (other than the skin covering my entire face) on my face looks perfect. Clean eyebrows is the way to go, so that when you show your holiday photos to your friends, they’ll focus on your perfectly shaped eyebrows rather than on your bad skin. That’s what I like to think anyway.
I like to get my eyebrows done at the Myer’s Benefit Brow Bar in the city. They do a great job every single time.

benefit

– Full body scrub

Nothing screams holiday like a nice tan. If you want your tan to last longer, make sure you scrub your face and body two days before you go on your trip. If you scrub one day before, your skin might be too directly ‘exposed’ to the sun which can cause more damage instead of giving you a glowing tan. My favourite body scrub is the Garnier BodyTonic Sugar Scrub and for my face I use MD Formulations Face&Body Scrub.

garnier MD

– Pedicure

I would usually focus more on a manicure rather than a pedicure, but when on a beach holiday, it’s the other way round. Beach holidays mean walking barefoot, wearing thongs and pretty sandals! You want to make sure your toes look pretty. Brightly coloured toe nails are always a winner for a sun-filled holiday.

Side note: Your hands are also exposed but if you get a manicure and do a lot of activities during your holiday, chances are your nails will chip very easily and you’ll end up looking scanky.

red nails pink nails

– Plan but be flexible!

Do your homework and check out what are the Top 10 things to see/do at your holiday destination. Familiarise yourself with the basics like transport system, whether you can get easy access to ATMs, where to eat, etc. You can find everything you need online. There are many travel blogs out there where you can get all the info you need. I’m also an avid user of TripAdvisor.

If I have 9 days to spend in Phuket, I would normally plan activities (from morning to night) for at least 7 days. I’m not the ‘lay-on-the-beach-and-sip-on-cocktails-all-day’ type of traveller. I like to plan to make sure I do as much as possible and make the most of my time at my holiday destination. But in saying that, I stay flexible…nobody wants to follow a rigid schedule when they’re on holidays!

~C

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • About me

  • Hi Lovelies,

    My name is Caroline and I’m a Mauritian girl living in Sydney since 2007. I’m a lover of all things loyal, honest, positive and happy. Don't forget to subscribe ;) xx
  • Enter your email address to follow my blog & receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 409 other followers

